Poatina Mountain Race 2020

About the Event


The fifth annual running of the Poatina Mountain Race will occur on Sunday 1 March 2020.

Production car-based circuit, sports and rally cars are all eligible for participation in three categories:

  • Mountain Race (driver-only competition)
  • Mountain Rally (driver and co-driver competition)
  • Mountain Tour (drive and co-driver non-competition)

The inaugural event in 2014 was the first in a new generation of Australian motorsport events. Held on the same road and on the same day, the first event combined European-style long-course hillclimb racing, with a sprint format tarmac rally.

The 2020 Poatina Mountain Race remains based at the purpose-built village that once served as home to hydro-electric power station construction workforce. Today Poatina is a close-knit community that welcomes visitors with accommodation, a restaurant, cafe and even a golf course amongst its picturesque view of the green and mountainous Norfolk Plains and Great Western Tiers.

In 2014, the inaugural event's outright and Mountain Rally category winners were Hobart's Matt Rickards and Michael Potter, in their ex-LWR Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX RS.  Hobart based Jamie Lonergan, won the long-course hillclimb Mountain Race category in his menacing black 1989 Nissan Skyline GT-R.

The 2015 event's outright and Mountain Rally winners were Adam Garwood of Launceston and Queensland co-driver Cameron Reeves, in their 2007 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup.  Jamie Lonergan (Hobart) won the Mountain Race category again - achieving the first back-to-back victory for both driver and vehicle (R32 Nissan GT-R).

Outright winners of the 2016 event were Hobart-based ocean racing yachtsman Mike Pritchard and co-driver Michael Hutchinson, who took out the Mountain Rally in their 2016 Dodge Viper ACR. Damien Moore (Hobart) scored the Mountain Race crown in his turbocharged Ford Escort Mk II.

2017 saw the first repeat outright winner in Porsche Carrera Cup driver Adam Garwood, with co-driver Bec Sheldrick, taking home the Mountain Rally trophies in their rapid 2002 Nissan Skyline GT-R V-Spec II. Hobart's Stephen Noble scored his first Mountain Race win in his twin-turbocharged Nissan 350Z.


Poatina - Gold and clear

The 2020 event again provides closed road tarmac rally competition over a nine-kilometre stretch of Poatina Road, a stunning piece of former Hydro-Electric Commission constructed tarmac that has an elevation gain of some 580 metres, snaking up Mount Blackwood from the Norfolk Plains to the Central Plateau of Northern Tasmania.

During the course of the day, teams will compete six times over the technical course which features an exciting mix of tight and twisty sections, as well as fast and flowing corners.

Poatina Village will again play host to the event’s start and finish celebrations, as well as service park and regroup area.

Poatina Mountain Race is sanctioned by the Australian Auto-Sport Alliance.

Poatina Logo

Enter Now


Event Info


Final official classifications
Read More

Competitor Documentation

Guide to the Event
See document

Entry List

Latest updates on cars and crews
See Entry List

Supplementary Regulations

Written with the competitor front of mind
Read More

Course Map

Course overview diagram
View Map


Get a backstage pass
Read More

Where to stay

Information on accommodation at Poatina
Read More


Entry Fees

  • Mountain Race and Mountain Rally
  • Mountain Tour (non-competition)
  • $660.00
  • $330.00
Read our Terms and Conditions